Your cancer

Living with the disease

The patient's environment

Physical activity

Having a sedentary lifestyle is a recognized risk factor for cancer, contributing to as many as 3,000 cases per year in France. By comparison, regular physical activity has shown to reduce the risk of developing cancer. This is particularly true with breast, colon, endometrial cancers, as well as reducing the likelihood of recurrence with previously treated cancer.

Physical activity also lowers the risk of developing other health issues and diseases. Thus, having a regular regimen of physical activity is highly recommended.

Additionally, regular physical activity has consistently shown to reduce symptoms of fatigue, improve quality of life, deliver psychological and emotional benefit, and enhance the patient’s adherence to the treatment plan.

The benefits of sport on treatment

What activity should be considered?

The recommended level of physical activity is at least 30 minutes of dynamic activity per day. It can engagement in active sport activity, but everyday actions such as taking the stairs, going for a brisk walk, housework or any other activity of moderate intensity are excellent options. The objective is dynamic activity on a regular schedule.

If already participating in a sport, it is often possible to continue that activity during your treatment program. The obvious exceptions would be for certain "risky" sports such as skiing, horse riding, diving or skydiving. In any case, your exercise regimen should be discussed with your cancer care team.

What is adapted physical activity ?

APA is activity adapted to the needs of a patient who cannot practice an activity under ordinary conditions. This is established by the decree of December 30, 2016: "practice in a context of daily activity, leisure, sports or programmed exercises, bodily movements produced by skeletal muscles, based on the skills and motivations of people with specific needs that prevent them from practicing in ordinary conditions. The purpose of providing adapted physical activity is to enable a person to adopt a physically active lifestyle on a regular basisin order to reduce the risk factors and functional limitations associated with the long-term condition of which they are concerned. is reached. The techniques usedrelate to physical and sporting activities and are distinguished from rehabilitation acts which are reserved for health professionals, while respecting their skills. "tences. "

In this context, it is the activity that adapts to the patient according to a personalized program and not the other way around.

What formalities should you plan for?

As with the practice of any sporting activity, a medical certificate of no contraindication is necessary for the practice of APA. Since 2016, adapted physical activity has been available on medical prescription including the goals of care. It must be practiced with qualified professionals, the list of which is accessible by region on the websites of the ARS (Regional Health Agency). However, this prescription does not necessarily imply 100% reimbursement of the costs incurred (current level of funding: 180€ per year per patient).

Votre cancer

Vivre avec la maladie

L'environnement du patient

Activité physique

La sédentarité est un facteur de risque reconnu de cancer, potentiellement impliquée dans 3000 cas par an en France. À l’inverse, une activité physique régulière a démontré un bénéfice sur le risque de survenue de cancer(notamment sein, côlon, endomètre) mais aussi de récidive d’un cancer déjà traité.

L’activité physique diminue également le risque de développer d’autres maladies chroniques. Il est donc primordial de conserver une activité physique régulière et adaptée, à tous les stades de la maladie.

Elle permet une amélioration symptomatique de la fatigue, une amélioration de la qualité de vie, de l’état psychologique et émotionnel et de lobservance aux traitements.

Les bienfaits du sport sur le traitement

Quel type d'activité réaliser ?

Le niveau minimal recommandé est de 30 minutes d’activité dynamique par jour. Il peut s’agir d’une véritable activité sportive mais aussi de gestes quotidiens comme par exemple prendre les escaliers, faire une marche rapide, les tâches ménagères ou toute autre activité d’intensité modérée.

Si vous pratiquiez déjà une activité sportive, il est tout à fait possible de la maintenir pendant le traitement. Exception faite tout de même de certains sports « à risque » comme le ski, l’équitation, la plongée ou le parachutisme dont la pratique devra être discutée avec votre oncologue en fonction de votre pathologie et du traitement que vous recevez.

Qu'est-ce que l'Activité Physique Adaptée ?

L’APA est l’activité physique adaptée, adaptée aux besoins des patients qui ne peuvent pratiquer une activité dans des conditions ordinaires comme l’indique le décret du 30 Décembre 2016 : « pratique dans un contexte d’activité du quotidien, de loisir, de sport ou d’exercices programmés, des mouvements corporels produits par les muscles squelettiques, basée sur les aptitudes et les motivations des personnes ayant des besoins spécifiques qui les empêchent de pratiquer dans des conditions ordinaires. La dispensation d’une activité physique adaptée a pour but de permettre à une personne d’adopter un mode de vie physiquement actif sur une base régulière afin de réduire les facteurs de risque et les limitations fonctionnelles liés à l’affection de longue durée dont elle est atteinte. Les techniques mobilisées relèvent d’activités physiques et sportives et se distinguent des actes de rééducation qui sont réservés aux professionnels de santé, dans le respect de leurs compétences. »

Dans ce cadre c’est l’activité qui s’adapte au patient selon un programme personnalisé et non l’inverse.

Quelles formalités prévoir ?

Comme pour la pratique de toute activité sportive, un certificat médical de non contre-indication est nécessaire pour la pratique de l’APA. Depuis 2016, l’activité physique adaptée est accessible sur prescription médicale comprenant les objectifs de prise en charge. Elle doit se pratiquer auprès de professionnels diplômés dont la liste est accessible par région sur les sites des ARS (Agence Régionale de Santé). Cette prescription n’implique par contre pas forcément un remboursement à 100% des frais engagés (hauteur actuelle du financement : 180€ par an par patient).