Health documents

What are the health documents ?

The performance of certain tests is essential for the diagnosis of your disease and for the proposal of the most appropriate therapeutic strategy. CancerConsult provides you with information on health documents related to complementary examinations. 

What is an MRI ?

An MRI (or Magnetic Resonance Imaging) is an examination technique that allows information to be taken on organs thanks to a magnetic field and radio frequencies. The patient lies down and enters the cylinder by the feet or the head depending on the area to be analyzed. This examination is painless and may require the injection of a contrast product to improve the quality of the images. Once the MRI is performed, the radiologist recovers the different images to interpret them. MRI can diagnose many tumors.

What is a CT scan ?

A CT scan is another examination technique that uses X-rays to provide an overall view of an area of the body. Lying on a table, the C-arm is placed at the level of the area to be examined and rotates around the patient. This examination, which is painless and may require a contrast medium, measures the absorption of X-rays by the tissues and allows the detection of anomalies in the organs. The scanner is also used to monitor the effectiveness of chemotherapy or to assist in a biopsy. 

What is a biopsy ?

A biopsy consists of taking a piece of organ or tissue with a needle during surgery, an ultrasound scan or an endoscopy. The sample will then be analyzed (pathological examination) to detect the presence of cancerous cells and any molecular abnormalities. Almost all tissues of the human body can be removed. For this examination, the patient is under local or general anesthesia. In oncology, the biopsy is used to establish a diagnosis and possibly prescribe other examinations to refine it.

What is a molecular profile ?

Molecular profiling is part of precision medicine and allows for the personalization of the patient's therapeutic strategy. The objective of this practice is to know the alteration of the genes that led to the development of the patient's cancer.

The doctor will then analyze the tumor (or a blood sample, called a "liquid biopsy") and will be able to reason about the disease in relation to its stage and location, while taking into account its molecular aspects. 

Molecular profiling is not feasible (or useful) in 100% of cancers, and will be proposed on a case-by-case basis. 

Discover the directory of patient associations on the site mon-cancer.com

My 2nd opinion

If you have questions about your treatment and would like to be reassured or learn about other possibilities, one of our experts in your pathology will study your file and answer you within 7 days.

Multi-Disciplinary Opinion

On the Expert’s Suggestion

After reading your file, the oncologist may suggest an opinion developed with several experts: surgery, radiotherapist, if he thinks they can optimize your management.

Environment

You don't always have time to ask your doctor all your questions? Our medical team will answer your questions on: diet, work, sexuality, vacations, sports...

Documents de santé

Quels sont les documents de santé ?

La réalisation de certains examens est indispensable pour le diagnostic de votre maladie et pour la proposition de la stratégie thérapeutique la plus adaptée. CancerConsult vous apporte de l’information sur les documents de santé liés aux examens complémentaires. 

Qu’est-ce qu’une IRM ?

Une IRM (ou Imagerie par Résonance Magnétique) est une technique d’examen permettant la prise d’information sur les organes grâce à un champ magnétique et des radiofréquences. Le patient est allongé et entre dans le cylindre par les pieds ou la tête en fonction de la zone à analyser. Cet examen est indolore et peut nécessiter l’injection d’un produit de contraste afin d’améliorer la qualité des images. Une fois l’IRM réalisée, le radiologue récupère les différentes images pour les interpréter. L’IRM permet de diagnostiquer de nombreuses tumeurs.

Qu’est-ce qu’un scanner ?

Le scanner est une autre technique d’examen permettant, à l’aide de rayons X, d’avoir une vue d’ensemble sur une zone du corps. Allongé sur une table, l’arceau se place au niveau de la zone à examiner et tourne autour du patient. Cet examen, indolore et pouvant nécessiter un produit de contraste, mesure l’absorption des rayons X par les tissus et permet de détecter des anomalies au niveau des organes. Le scanner est également utilisé pour contrôler l’efficacité de la chimiothérapie ou d’aider lors d’une biopsie. 

Qu’est-ce qu’une biopsie ?

La biopsie consiste à prélever un morceau d’organe ou de tissu à l’aide d’une aiguille, lors d’une chirurgie, d’une échographie / scanner ou d’une endoscopie. Le prélèvement sera ensuite analysé (examen anatomo-pathologique) afin de déceler la présence de cellules cancéreuses et d’éventuelles anomalies moléculaires. La quasi-totalité des tissus du corps humain peuvent être prélevés. Pour cet examen, le patient est sous anesthésie locale ou générale. En cancérologie, la biopsie permet d’établir un diagnostic et éventuellement la prescription d’autres examens afin de l’affiner.

Qu’est-ce qu’un profil moléculaire ?

Le profil moléculaire fait parti de la médecine de précision permettant la personnalisation de la stratégie thérapeutique du patient. L’objectif de cette pratique est de connaître l’altération des gènes ayant amené au développement du cancer du patient.

Le médecin va donc analyser la tumeur (ou un échantillon sanguin, on parle alors de « biopsie liquide ») et pourra alors raisonner sur la maladie par rapport à son stade et à sa localisation, tout en prenant en compte ses aspects moléculaires. 

Un profil moléculaire n’est pas faisable (ou utile) dans 100% des cancers, et sera proposé au cas par cas. 

Découvrez le répertoire des associations de patients du site mon-cancer.com

Mon 2ème avis

Vous avez des questions sur votre traitement et vous souhaitez être rassuré ou connaître d’autres possibilités, l’un de nos experts dans votre pathologie va étudier votre dossier et vous répondre en 7 jours.

Avis pluri-disciplinaire

Sur suggestion de l'Expert

L’oncologue après lecture de votre dossier peut être amené à suggérer un avis développé avec plusieurs experts : chirurgie, radiothérapeute, s’il pense qu’ils peuvent optimiser votre prise en charge.

Environnement

Vous n’avez pas toujours le temps de poser toutes vos questions à votre médecin ? Notre équipe médicale répondra à vos interrogations sur : l’alimentation, le travail, la sexualité, les vacances, le sport…