Your cancer

Living with the disease

Hormone Therapy

What is it ?

Hormone therapy is one of several tools in the cancer treatment arsenal. Its role is essential in the treatment and prevention of relapses of hormone-sensitive cancers: in particular, cancers of the breast, uterus and prostate.

Use

The term ‘hormone therapy’ something of a misnomer. The goal of hormone therapies is to prevent hormone stimulation of the cancer cells. In this sense, they might therefore more accurately thought of as ‘anti-hormone’ therapies. The treatments are :

Breast cancer

80% of breast cancers express estrogen and / or progesterone receptors on the surface of their cells. When these hormones attach to the surface of the tumor cells, they stimulate the proliferation of the cancer cells. To address this, there are three types of hormone therapy for breast cancer :

  • Anti-estrogens, which replace natural estrogenson the hormone receptors in tumor cells or degrade these receptors.
  • LH-RH analogues, which suppress the production of female hormones by the ovaries in pre-menopausal women.in post-menopausal women.
  • Anti-aromatases, which prevent the production ofestrogenin post-menopausal women.

Prostate cancer

The development of prostate cancer is linked to the metabolism of androgens, in particular the binding of testosterone to the androgen receptor present in the tumor cells. All prostate cancer is initially sensitive to hormone therapy, which is referred to as sensitivity to castration. The molecules prescribed are called LH-RH agonists or LH-RH antagonists. These drugs are mainly prescribed in injectable form (subcutaneously) on a monthly, quarterly, or even semi-annual basis. This treatment can also be supplemented with tablet treatments.

When the cancer is metastatic from the onset or becomes resistant to castration, ‘next-generation hormone therapy’ can be prescribed. These are in oral form and are combined with injectable hormone therapy which are continued in parallel.

The treatment is monitored by measuring the level of testosterone in the blood in relation to PSA (prostate-specific antigen) levels.

Endometrial cancer

Like breast and prostate tissues, endometrial tissue growth is influenced by female hormones. It is these hormones that influence the menstrual cycle. When a cell cancerous, it can maintain this sensitivity to estrogen and progesterone through the presence of hormone receptors on its surface. To stop tumor growth, hormone therapy is often used.

An alternative hormone therapy, albeit less frequently used,
is the surgical removal of the ovaries (double oophorectomy) or testicles (double orchiectomy.)

Side Effects

The frequency and severity of side effects can vary greatly from patient to patient, but steps can be taken to address and minimize undesirable effects. It is therefore important to discuss your symptoms with your oncologist, as effective treatment includes awareness of side effects.

Side effects of hormone therapy include :

Osteoporosis or loss of bone density

Measurement using bone densitometry will be taken at the start and throughout the treatment.

Increase in cardiovascular risk

requiring regular monitoring and oversight, particularly in the event of pre-existing risk factors.

Weight gain

Sexual disorders

including decreased libido and erectile dysfunction.

Hot flashes

Irritability

Breast pain

Decrease in size
of the penis and testicles

Risk of deep vein thrombosis (phlebitis)

in the case
of estrogen-targeting drugs

Indications

With breast cancer,hormone therapy can be used at all stages of the disease :

At the localized stage : Pprescribed after radical treatment a duration of 5 years and more in certain cases.

In the metastatic stage : alone or in combination with other systemic treatments, hormone therapy can slow down or even arrest cancer growth.

In endometrial cancer,hormone therapy is indicated in the metastatic stages. It can be prescribed alone if the cancer is in a ‘slow growth’ (indolent) state, or with fragile patients who cannot tolerate chemotherapy.

In prostate cancer, hormone therapy is a primary treatment strategy. Once started, it is typically continued indefinitely, and even in instances where resistance to castration occurs.

At the localized stagehormone therapy is prescribed in cancers where there is an intermediate or high risk of relapse. The treatment duration is based on the potential risk, and most often between six months to three years.

At the metastatic stage or in the event of resistance to secondary castration : hormonal treatment should be continued, and your oncologist may decide to include ‘new generation’ hormone therapy (tablets or +/-chemotherapy).

Votre cancer

Vivre avec la maladie

L'hormonothérapie

Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

L’hormonothérapie est l’un des outils de l’arsenal thérapeutique contre le cancer. Son rôle est primordial dans le traitement et la prévention des rechutes des cancers hormono-sensibles : cancer du sein, cancer de l’endomètre (ou corps de l’utérus) et cancer de la prostate.

Le fonctionnement

Le terme hormonothérapie est impropre. En effet, le but de l’ensemble de ces thérapies est d’empêcher par différents moyens la stimulation hormonale des cellules cancéreuses. Il s’agit donc plutôt de thérapies « anti-hormones » .

Cancer du sein

80% des cancers du sein expriment à la surface de leurs cellules des récepteurs aux oestrogènes et/ou à la progestérone. Lorsque ces hormones se fixent à la surface des cellules tumorales, elles stimulent la prolifération de ces dernières. Il existe 3 types d’hormonothérapie dans le cancer du sein :

  • les anti-œstrogènes qui remplacent les œstrogènes naturels sur les récepteurs hormonaux des cellules tumorales ou dégradent ces récepteurs.
  • les analogues de la LH-RH qui suppriment la production des hormones féminines par les ovaires chez la femme non ménopausée.
  • les anti-aromatases qui empêchent la fabrication des œstrogènes chez la femme ménopausée.

Cancer de la prostate

Le développement du cancer de la prostate est lié au métabolisme des androgènes, notamment via la fixation de testostérone sur le récepteur aux androgènes présent dans les cellules tumorales. Pour les cancers de la prostate initialement sensibles à l’hormonothérapie, on parle de sensibilité à la castration. Les molécules prescrites sont des agonistes de la LH-RH ou des antagonistes de la LH-RH. Ces médicaments sont essentiellement prescrits sous forme injectable (en sous-cutané) de façon mensuelle, trimestrielle voire semestrielle. On peut également compléter ce traitement par des traitements en comprimés.

Lorsque le cancer est métastatique d’emblée ou devient résistant à la castration, on peut prescrire des « hormonothérapies de nouvelle génération ». Ces dernières se présentent sous forme orale et s’associent à l’hormonothérapie injectable qui devra être poursuivie.

Leur bonne observance se mesure via le taux de testostérone dans le sang qui doit être effondré, leur efficacité via la mesure du taux de PSA.

Cancer de l’endomètre

De la même façon que pour le sein et la prostate, le tissu endométrial se développe sous l’influence des hormones féminines. C’est cette influence qui rythme les cycles menstruels en situation physiologique. Lorsqu’une cellule se transforme en cellule cancéreuse elle peut garder cette sensibilité aux oestrogènes et à la progestérone via la présence de récepteurs aux hormones à sa surface. Afin de freiner la croissance tumorale, on peut recourir à l’hormonothérapie.

Une autre forme d’hormonothérapie est possible mais moins utilisée :
la chirurgie (double ovariectomie chez les femmes, double orchidectomie chez les hommes).

Les effets indésirables

La fréquence et l’intensité des effets secondaires est très variable d’un patient à un autre. Des solutions existent pour prendre en charge ces effets indésirables. Il est donc nécessaire d’échanger avec votre oncologue sur vos symptômes, la bonne observance du traitement étant indispensable au contrôle du cancer.

Les effets indésirables des hormonothérapies comprennent :

Ostéoporose

une mesure de la minéralisation osseuse par ostéodensitométrie vous sera prescrite au début du traitement et pendant celui-ci.

Majoration du risque cardio-vasculaire

nécessitant un suivi spécialisé régulier, notamment en cas de facteurs de risque pré-existants

Prise de poids

Troubles sexuels

diminution de la libido, troubles de l’érection chez l’homme

Bouffées de chaleur

Irritabilité

Douleurs des seins

Diminution de taille du pénis
et des testicules chez l’homme

Risque de thrombose veineuse profonde (phlébite)

pour les médicaments
ciblant les oestrogènes

Les indications

Dans le cancer du sein, l’hormonothérapie peut être utilisée à tous les stades de la maladie.

Au stade localisé : elle est prescrite après le traitement radical pour une durée de 5 ans et plus dans certains cas.

Au stade métastatique : seule ou en association avec d’autres traitements systémiques elle peut ralentir voire stopper l’expansion du cancer.

Dans le cancer de l’endomètre, l’hormonothérapie est indiquée dans les stades métastatiques. Elle peut être prescrite seule dans les formes indolentes (d’évolution lente) ou chez les patientes fragiles qui ne peuvent tolérer une chimiothérapie.

Dans le cancer de la prostate, l’hormonothérapie est la pierre angulaire du traitement. Une fois débutée elle devra être poursuivie à vie, même en cas de résistance à la castration car elle conserve malgré tout un effet à ce stade.

Au stade localisé, l’hormonothérapie est prescrite dans les cancers à risque intermédiaire et élevé de rechute. Sa durée est modulée selon le risque, le plus souvent entre 6 mois et 3 ans.

Au stade métastatique ou en cas de résistance à la castration secondaire, le traitement hormonal devra être poursuivi et votre oncologue pourra décider d’y adjoindre une hormonothérapie dite de « nouvelle génération » en comprimés ou une chimiothérapie.