Your cancer

Living with the disease

Prostate Cancers

What is it ?

Prostate cancer is the most common cancer in men in the United States with more than 190,000 cases and the 2nd most deadly cancer in men, after lung cancer, with more than 30,000 deaths per year (according to Cancer Statistics, 2020). The risk is strongly correlated to age with highly variable prognoses. If the diagnosis is most often made at the localized stage, there are aggressive forms, metastatic from the outset.

Prostate cancer cells are derived from the epithelial cells of the prostate.

These cells secrete Prostate-Specific Antigen (PSA), the level of which is part of the screening for this disease as well as the cornerstone of its long-term follow-up.

The growth of tumor cells is stimulated by androgens and particularly testosterone. This makes prostate cancer one of the hormone-dependent cancers, like certain types of breast and endometrial cancer.

Note also that there are hereditary predisposition to prostate cancer (especially due to mutation in the BRCA2 gene).

Prostate cancers

There are several histologies (type of tissue affected) of prostate cancer.
The most common of these, totaling more than 95% of cases, is prostatic adenocarcinoma.
There are also the rarer neuroendocrine carcinomas, whose treatment typically
requires surgery and / or chemotherapy.

When discussing prostate cancer, the emphasis focuses on different presentations of the disease:

Extent of cancerous lesions

When localized : the tumor is confined to the prostate gland only.

Locally advanced : the tumor extends regionally around the prostate gland but has not spread beyond the pelvis.

Metastatic : the tumor has spread to other areas of the body. Most often, prostate cancer cells migrate to the bones and lymph nodes, but visceral damage is also possible to critical organs (e.g. liver, lung and more rarely the brain).

Response to the treatment

Hormone-sensitive response : effective response to hormonal treatment, or castration, first-line (physical or chemical).

Hormone-resistant : the cancer does not respond to castration (primary resistance) or progresses after a period of response to first-line hormonal treatment (secondary resistance).

The hormone-dependent nature of this cancer leads to frequent use of anti-androgen hormone therapy at different stages of the disease.

Hormone therapy drastically decreases the secretion of testosterone and therefore involves an increased cardiovascular risk. This is especially due to weight gain and high blood pressure. It is imperative to combine hormone therapy with hygienic and dietary measures (e.g., regular physical activity, balanced diet) and specialized cardiological monitoring in the event of increased risk factors. Doing so can limit the likelihood of complications unrelated to the cancer itself.

Prostate cancer most often metastasizes to the bone

Should this occur, specific steps should be taken to manage these lesions. In the event of symptomatic metastases and / or resistance to castration, an anti-resorptive bone treatment may be indicated associated with vitamin-calcium supplementation. Hormone therapy can also induce secondary osteoporosis, which must be addressed.

Prostate cancer is a genitourinary condition

Treatment for prostate cancer can be responsible for sexual disorders: postoperative or post-irradiation erectile dysfunction, libido and erection disorders, reduction in the size of the genitals under hormonal therapy, etc. Management by a professional in oncosexology is possible and various solutions are available.

Management by a professional in oncosexology is possible

Ask your doctor, various solutions are available.

Symptoms

Prostate cancer is most often without obvious symptoms (asymptomatic.) Depending on the stage of the disease, the symptoms are different.

When in a localized stage,signs may appear but not be specific. Further, they may be linked to other non-cancerous pathologies of the prostate. Examples include benign prostatic hypertrophy (a prostatic adenoma or ‘large prostate’) or prostatitis (inflammation or infection of the prostate).

Common indications are of a urinary origin :

Dysuria

Difficulty urinating with decreased urine output

Pollakiuria

Frequent urination, nocturnal rises

Urinary urgency

Urgent needto go urinate

Acute urine retention

Totalinability to urinate

Macroscopic hematuria

Blood in the urine

Hematospermia

Blood in the ejaculate
In the metastatic stage, the disease is most
often exhibited by bone symptoms :

Bone pain

Spinal cord compression with back pain / lumbar pain

Continence disorders

Motor deficit of the lower limbs

A general deterioration of the patient’s condition

Unusual fatigue, weight loss

Screening

Screening is critically important because of the asymptomatic nature of the disease. It is important to monitor prostate health and consider additional tests to determine if biopsies are necessary.

PSA is an indicator of specific activity of the prostate. Annual monitoring of PSA typically begins from age 50, and even earlier for those with family history. A high level or a continuous increase of this marker will typically initiate further tests, which include clinical examination (digital rectal examination for prostate induration) and a prostate MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) scan. In cases where the patient has a pacemaker, a contrast ultrasound can replace the MRI.

Diagnostic Process

Only prostate biopsies performed under the best conditions, targeting suspicious areas on MRI by image fusion, allow a correct diagnosis to be made. Aggressiveness of the cancer is based on the Gleason score applied to the biopsy results, which ranges from 6 (good prognosis) to 10. Tumor size is another prognostic factor, based on MRI review and cancer biopsies.

The initial diagnosis determines treatment options, with the aggressiveness of the cancer factored in. Bone scintigraphy, CT scan or sometimes Positron Emission Tomography (PET) scan may be indicated, and especially in locally advanced forms.

Risk factors

The main risk factors for prostate cancer are :

Age

Endocrine disruptors
(such as chlordecone)
Family history

Treatments

With biopsies that indicate a mildly aggressive cancer, active surveillance may
be a viable option. This approach would include evaluation by MRI and biopsies in the first year, with additional treatment in case of progression.

With potentially progressive localized prostate cancer,several options are possible
including surgery or radiation therapy. 

Surgical treatment is called a prostatectomy. This consists of removing the prostate, the seminal vesicles and, if necessary, the neighboring lymph nodes that drain the prostate. Prostatectomy is indicated in localized tumors but becomes more questionable with locally advanced tumors. (Tumor spread to the seminal vesicles and/or lymph nodes.) Typical complications after surgery are incontinence (the frequency of which has markedly decreased due to improved surgical techniques) and sexual disorders, particularly erectile dysfunction. The surgical techniques are equivalent whether in conventional surgery or robot-assisted laparoscopy.

Radiation therapy uses radiation kill tumor cells in the prostate and possibly the seminal vesicles and lymph node areas. The specifics of these radiation treatments (intensity, number of sessions, etc.) depend on the cancer stage. The prostate is located and identified, and the irradiation delivered with care to protect neighboring organs. In aggressive forms, hormonal treatment can be combined to reduce the risk of recurrence.

Other treatment options are sometimes possible, including brachytherapy, focused ultrasound and other less established techniques. It is therefore not always easy for the patient to choose the course of action and a second opinion may be necessary. The most complete picture is therefore critical so that the patient can participate in their therapeutic choice. 

Despite the treatment, recurrence of the tumor is possible, and usually indicated by a rise in PSA level. A PET scan or prostate-specific membrane antigen (PSMA) test can tell if this is a localized recurrence accessible to a new local treatment.

In the event of recurrence after prostatectomy, radiation therapy is a likely treatment option.

In the event of recurrence after radiation therapy, the therapeutic choices are not well established. Prostatectomy can be considered, but the consequences can be more serious. Other treatments are offered such as stereotaxic radiation therapy localized on recurrence, brachytherapy, or other treatments such as focused ultrasound, cryotherapy, etc.

In some instances, certain lymph node or bone recurrences are accessible to radiation therapy.

In the event of metastatic prostate cancer, treatment is based on hormonal therapy. This involves pituitary stimulation aimed at stopping the production of testosterone by the testes, possibly in conjunction with an anti-androgen treatment.

In some cases, chemotherapy or immunotherapy may be considered. In these metastatic forms, local treatment of the prostate by radiation therapy may improve survival. Additionally, new hormonal therapies have made it possible to significantly improve survival in advanced tumors.

Endoscopic surgery is sometimes necessary to unblock the prostatic urethra or repermeabilize the ureters in some locally advanced forms.

Finally, as with any cancer diagnosis, the chosen therapeutic strategy must be approached with a multidisciplinary perspective and the proper medical team.

Votre cancer

Vivre avec la maladie

Les cancers de la Prostate

Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Le cancer de la prostate est le cancer le plus fréquent chez l’homme en France avec plus de 50 000 cas et 8000 décès par an. Le risque est fortement corrélé à l’âge avec des pronostics très variables. Si le diagnostic est le plus souvent fait au stade localisé, il existe des formes agressives, métastatiques d’emblée. Tous stades confondus, la survie à 5 ans est supérieure à 90%. Il s’agit principalement d’un cancer de l’homme âgé avec un âge médian au diagnostic de 68 ans.

Les cellules de cancer de la prostate dérivent des cellules épithéliales de la prostate.

Ces cellules sécrètent du PSA dont le dosage fait partie du dépistage de cette maladie mais est aussi la pierre angulaire de son suivi au long cours.

La croissance des cellules tumorales est stimulée par les androgènes et notamment la testostérone. Le cancer de la prostate fait donc partie des cancers hormonodépendants comme certains types de cancers du sein et de l’endomètre.

À noter qu’il existe des formes héréditaires de prédisposition au cancer de la prostate (notamment en cas de mutation du gène BRCA2).

Les cancers de la prostate

Il existe plusieurs histologies (type de tissu atteint) de cancer de la prostate.
La plus fréquente (>95% des cas), dont nous allons parler ici, est l’adénocarcinome prostatique.
Il existe également des carcinomes neuro-endocrines, beaucoup plus rares et dont la prise en charge est basée
sur la chirurgie ou la chimiothérapie en cas de maladie avancée.

Lorsqu’on parle des cancers de la prostate, il s’agit surtout de présentations différentes de la maladie :

Selon l’étendue des lésions cancéreuses

Les formes localisées : cancer confiné à la glande prostatique

Les formes localement avancées : cancer s’étendant régionalement autour de la glande prostatique mais sans dépasser le pelvis (=petit bassin).

Les formes métastatiques : cancer ayant « essaimé » dans d’autres régions du corps. Le plus souvent, les cellules de cancer de la prostate migrent au niveau des os et des ganglions lymphatiques mais des atteintes viscérales sont également possibles (foie, poumon et plus rarement cerveau).

Selon la réponse au traitement

Les formes hormonosensibles : répondant au traitement hormonal, ou castration, de 1ère intention (physique ou chimique)

Les formes résistantes à la castration : qui ne répondent pas à cette castration (résistance primaire) ou qui progressent après une période de réponse au traitement hormonal de 1ère intention (résistance secondaire).

Le caractère hormonodépendant de ce cancer induit un recours fréquent à l’hormonothérapie anti-androgènes aux différents stades de la maladie

L’hormonothérapie diminue drastiquement la sécrétion de testostérone et implique donc une augmentation du risque cardio-vasculaire via une prise de poids et une hypertension artérielle notamment. Il est donc impératif d’assortir l’hormonothérapie de mesures hygiéno-diététiques (activité physique régulière, alimentation équilibrée) et d’un suivi cardiologique spécialisé en cas de facteurs de risque afin de limiter le risque de complication non liée au cancer.

Le cancer de la prostate métastase le plus souvent au niveau osseux

Ces lésions doivent être prises en charge spécifiquement en plus du traitement du cancer. En cas de métastases symptomatiques et/ou de résistance à la castration, un traitement anti-résorbtif osseux pourra être mis en place associé à une supplémentation vitamino-calcique. L’hormonothérapie peut également induire une ostéoporose secondaire qu’il faudra prévenir.

Le cancer de la prostate est une tumeur génito-urinaire

Le traitement pour le cancer de la prostate peut être responsables de troubles sexuels : troubles de l’érection post-opératoires ou post-irradiation, troubles de la libido et de l’érection, diminution de la taille des organes génitaux sous hormonothérapie, etc.

Une prise en charge par un professionnel en onco-sexologie est possible

N’hésitez pas à interroger votre médecin car de nombreuses solutions existent.

Les symptômes

Le cancer de la prostate est le plus souvent asymptomatique. En fonction du stade de la maladie, les symptômes sont différents.

Au stade localisé de la maladie, des signes peuvent apparaître mais ne sont pas spécifiques et peuvent être liés à d’autres pathologies non cancéreuses de la prostate comme l’hypertrophie bénigne de la prostate : un adénome prostatique (« grosse prostate » liée à l’âge) ou la prostatite (inflammation/infection de la prostate).

Les signes souvent présents sont d’origine urinaires :

Dysurie

Difficulté à uriner avec diminution du débit urinaire

Pollakiurie

Mictions fréquentes, levers nocturnes

Impériosités mictionnelles

Besoin urgent daller uriner

Rétention aiguë d’urine

Impossibilité totale de pouvoir uriner

Hématurie macroscopique

Sang dans les urines

Hémospermie

Sang dans le sperme
Au stade métastatique, la maladie se manifeste le plus souvent
par les symptômes osseux (site métastatique principal) :

Douleurs osseuses

Compression de la moelle épinière avec douleur dorsale/lombaire

Troubles de la continence

Déficit moteur des membres inférieurs

Signes dits « généraux » avec altération de l’état général

Fatigue inhabituelle, perte de poids

Le dépistage

Le dépistage prend toute son importance en raison du caractère asymptomatique de ce cancer. Il n’existe pas de dépistage organisé, il est donc important de surveiller sa prostate et si besoin de faire des explorations complémentaires pour déterminer si des biopsies seraient nécessaires.

Le PSA ou antigène prostatique spécifique est un indicateur d’activité spécifique de la prostate. La surveillance annuelle du PSA commence à partir de 50 ans voire plus tôt dans les familles à risque. Un taux élevé d’emblée ou une augmentation continue de ce marqueur justifient d’explorer la prostate. Ces explorations sont basées sur l’examen clinique (toucher rectal à la recherche d’une induration prostatique) et l’IRM prostatique (présence de zone suspecte selon des critères internationaux). En cas de pacemaker, une échographie de contraste peut remplacer l’IRM.

Le diagnostic

Seules, les biopsies de la prostate réalisées dans les meilleures conditions, éventuellement en ciblant par fusion d’image les zones suspectes en IRM, permettent de faire correctement le diagnostic. L’évaluation de l’agressivité du cancer repose sur le score de Gleason établi sur l’examen des biopsies, qui va de 6 (bon pronostic) à 10. La taille du cancer est également un facteur pronostic, évalué sur les données de l’IRM et de la longueur d’envahissement des biopsies par le cancer.

La qualité du diagnostic initial conditionne le choix des options thérapeutiques et l’évolution ultérieure. La recherche d’une extension extra prostatique dépend de l’agressivité du cancer. La scintigraphie osseuse et le scanner ou parfois la tomoscintigraphie par émission de positon (TEP ou Petscan) sont indiqués notamment dans les formes localement avancées.

Les facteurs de risque

Les principaux facteurs de risque des cancers de la prostate sont :

L’âge

Les perturbateurs endocriniens
(comme le chloredécone)
Les antécédents familiaux

Les traitements

Lorsque les biopsies sont faiblement atteintes par un cancer peu agressif, une surveillance active peut être proposée
avec une nouvelle évaluation par IRM et biopsies dans la première année avec nécessité d’un traitement en cas de progression.

En cas de cancer prostatique localisé potentiellement évolutif, plusieurs options sont envisageables :
chirurgie ou radiothérapie. 
Il existe des situations où ces deux traitements sont envisageables et dans ce cas,
le patient doit participer au choix du traitement.

La chirurgie repose sur la prostatectomie qui consiste à retirer la prostate, les vésicules séminales et si besoin, les ganglions voisins drainant la prostate. La prostatectomie est indiquée dans les formes localisées mais devient plus discutable dans les formes localement avancées avec envahissement des vésicules séminales et / ou atteinte ganglionnaire. Les principales complications à distance de l’acte chirurgical sont l’incontinence dont la fréquence a très nettement diminué par l’amélioration des techniques chirurgicales et les troubles sexuels notamment la dysfonction érectile. Les techniques chirurgicales sont équivalentes que ce soit en chirurgie conventionnelle ou par cœlioscopie éventuellement robot-assistée.

La radiothérapie consiste à définir un volume de traitement comprenant la prostate et éventuellement les vésicules séminales et les aires ganglionnaires. Ce volume fait l’objet d’une irradiation fractionnée avec modulation d’intensité, le nombre de séances étant fonction du stade initial. Le repérage de la prostate est réalisé à chaque séance et l’irradiation est délivrée par une multitude d’incidences permettant de protéger les organes de voisinage. Dans les formes agressives, un traitement hormonal peut être associé pour diminuer le risque de récidive.

D’autres options de traitement local sont parfois envisageables, notamment la curiethérapie, les ultrasons focalisés et d’autres techniques moins développées. Il n’est donc pas toujours facile pour le patient de se déterminer et un second avis peut s’avérer nécessaire. L’information la plus complète est donc indispensable pour que le patient puisse participer au choix thérapeutique sans regrets ultérieurs. 

Quelque soit le traitement, la récidive est possible, se manifestant par une progression du taux de PSA. Une TEP à la fluorocholine ou au PSMA permet de savoir s’il s’agit d’une récidive localisée accessible à un nouveau traitement local.

En cas de récidive après prostatectomie, la radiothérapie peut être proposée.

En cas de récidive après radiothérapie, les choix thérapeutiques ne sont pas codifiés. La prostatectomie peut être envisagée mais ses conséquences peuvent être plus lourdes. D’autres traitements sont proposés comme la radiothérapie stéréotaxique localisée sur la récidive, la curiethérapie, ou d’autres traitements comme les ultrasons focalisés, la cryothérapie, …

Certaines récidives au niveau ganglionnaires ou osseux sont accessibles à la radiothérapie.

En cas de cancer prostatique métastatique, le traitement repose sur une hormonothérapie. Celle-ci comporte une stimulation hypophysaire visant à stopper la production de testostérone par les testicules éventuellement associée à un anti-androgène.

Dans certains cas, la chimiothérapie ou l’immunothérapie peuvent être envisagées. Dans ces formes métastatiques, le traitement local de la prostate par radiothérapie peut avoir un intérêt pour améliorer la survie. Les nouvelles hormonothérapies ont permis d’améliorer de manière très significative la survie dans les formes évoluées.

La chirurgie endoscopique est parfois nécessaire pour désobstruer l’urètre prostatique ou reperméabiliser les uretères dans certaines forme localement avancées.

Comme pour tous les cancers, l’option thérapeutique choisie doit être valisée en réunion de concertation pluridisciplinaire.